Who are Covered by the Single Spine Pay Policy?


The new pay policy covers all Public Service workers specified under Article 190 of the 1992 Constitution.

These institutions are:


  • The Civil Service
  • The Judicial Service
  • The Audit Service
  • The Education Service
  • The Prisons Service
  • The Parliamentary Service
  • The Health Service
  • The Statistical Service
  • The National Fire Service
  • The Customs, Excise and Preventive Service
  • The Internal Revenue Service
  • The Police Service
  • The Immigration Service


The Legal Service,

a) Public Corporations other than those set up as commercial ventures.

b) Public Services established by the Constitution; and

c) Such other Public services as parliament may by law prescribe.


Mapping and Migration

Mapping is the process of placing individual jobholders in an institution on the Single Spine Grade Structure based on established guidelines

Notes on the Single Spine

The Fair Wages and Salaries Commission and labour unions, associations, institutions :